









|
[Date Prev][Date Next]
[Chronological]
[Thread]
[Top]
[NMLUG] Another nail in the Comcast coffin?
> Message: 2
> Date: Thu, 10 Jun 2004 17:30:09 -0600
> From: James Hamilton <jamesh@swcp.com>
> Subject: Re: [NMLUG] Another nail in the Comcast coffin?
>
> That sounds about right, comcast has themselves listed in the maps rbl
> (they requested they be listed). This to keep their customers from running
> email servers that send out junkmail I would imagine.
True. However, if a Comcast subscriber wants to keep themselves off other
mail filtering radars, at least for SpamAssassin, they can go request a
Habeas Warrant mark. So long as they don't abuse the mark, it reduces the
SpamAssassin score (i.e. negative score rule, less likely to be spam). Just
an idea.
>
> On Thu, Jun 10, 2004 at 09:27:25AM -0600, John Abrams wrote:
> > The evidence file is a list of the hosts and subnets registered to
> > comcast et al.
> > the list includes several types of records hosts (0), gateways (2), and
> > subnets (1),
> > as well as the DNS registry and ownership records as could be had by
> > searching whois.
> >
> > the host records in the list look like - 0, 24.153.64.109,
> > smtp-out.comcast.net
> > the subnet record is followed by the /subnetmask - 1, 24.0.128.0/18,
> > comcast.com (IE 16000+ addresses or a mask like 255.255.192.0)
> > and then the DNS name (comcast.com)
> >
> > what you have is a list of all comcasts subnets as listed from the
> > Internet Registry...very interesting!
> > And a whole boat load of addresses!!!
|
|